Saturday, May 28, 2022

Public Notice: Boundary County Noxious Weed Control

| April 19, 2022 11:00 AM

For 2022, the Boundary County Noxious Weed Department will continue to offer weed identification, site review, herbicide type or rate advice, rental sprayers, booklets, brochures and other land management information.

Spraying of Road Rights-of-Way: All county roads will be sprayed with herbicides on weed infested rights-of-way this season, late April through October.

If you do NOT want the right-of-way adjacent to your property sprayed, obtain a NO SPRAY Agreement from the Weed Department. These forms and accompanying “NO SPRAY” signs are free; the sign MUST BE POSTED by the owner at the property corners. Property owners are responsible for the eradication of noxious weeds in those areas. We cannot honor signs that are not obtained from our department and, particularly, without a signed agreement. If weed control has not happened on or before July 1, the marked “NO Spray” area may be sprayed for weed infestations.

Public Notice addition: All property owners who have potable water or irrigation water usage within 50 feet of a county road right-of-way must mark the area of intake as potable water and notify Boundary County Weed Department prior to May 1 of every year.

Idaho Weed Law: The Idaho Weed Law (Idaho Code Title 22, chapter 24) places the responsibility and obligation for controlling noxious weeds on the land owner. State designated noxious weeds known to be in or imminently threatening Boundary County includes:

Bohemian Knotweed, Canada Thistle, Common Reed, Curly Leaf Pondweed, Dalmatian Toad Flax, Diffuse Knapweed, Eurasion Milfoil, Field Bindweed, Giant Knotweed, Hoary Alyssu, Houndstongue, Japanese Knotweed, Jointed Goatgrass, Leafy Spruge , Meadow Knapweed , Musk Thistle, Orange Hawkweed , Oxeye Daisy , Poison Hemlock , Purple Loosestrife , Rush Skelentonweed , Scotch Broom , Scotch Thistle , Small Bugloss , Spotted Knapeweed, Tansy Ragwort, Whitetop, Yellow Hawkweed , Yellow Starthistle , Yellow Toadflax , Common Tansy , Black Henbane , Brazilian Elodea, Buffalobur, Common Crupina, Common Frogbit, Dyers Wood, Fanwort, Featherweed Fern, Flowering Rush, Giant Hogweed, Giant Salvinia, Hydrilla, Johnsongrass, Matgrass, Mediterranean Sage, Milium, Parrot Feather Milfoil, Perennial Pepperweed, Perennial Sowthistle , Plumeless Thistle, Policemans Helmet , Puncturevine, Russian Knapweed, Salt Cedar, Squarrose Knapweed, Syrian Beancaper, Tall Hawkweed , Viper Bugloss, Water Chestnut, Water Hyacinth, Yellow Flag Iris, White Bryony, Variable Leaf Milfoil.

Plants known to be in county are designated with an *

Spread the word, not the weed.

Please contact the Boundary County Weed Department, at the Extension office, 6447 Kootenai St., P.O. Box 267, Bonners Ferry, or call 208-267-5341.