Saturday, December 02, 2023

BFWC sees large turnout, NIWL in BF on Saturday

| November 2, 2023 1:00 AM

BONNERS FERRY — The Bonners Ferry Wrestling Club has seen an exponential increase in youth wrestling with approximately 110 wrestlers between ages 4 to 14, compared to 50 wrestlers in past years.

The Bonners Ferry wrestling club will be hosting the North Idaho Wrestling League tournament this weekend Nov. 4, at the Bonners Ferry High School. This event brings over 600 hundred wrestlers and their families to the community. 

The contest is for wrestlers between the ages of 4 to 15. Wrestling starts at 8:30 a.m. Saturday morning with the 4-5 year olds followed by the 6-7 year olds starting at 10 a.m.

At noon the  8-9 year olds start, then the 10-11 year olds and middle school/12-15 years olds will start at 2 p.m.

Wrestling will wrap up between 4 and 5 p.m.

Each group gets a two -hour block of wrestling and is finished up before the next group begins. This helps the tournaments run more smoothly, officials said. 

Last weekend, BFWC competed at the NIWL Kellogg wrestling tourney with the following results: Dalton Regehr, first; Carson Schnittlinger, second; Brantly Stockdale, first; Emmett Solomon, fourth; Braydon Stockdale, fourth; Melody Graves, second; Colt Barras, third; Isaiah Runyan, fourth; Austin Goodnight, second;Chase Bartoe, fourth; Evelynn Solomon, fourth; Gabriella Nagel, second; Blake Nichols, fourth; Emily Hart, second; Jackson Runyan, second; Emerie Bowman, third; and Evelynn Solomom, fourth.

Pre-bantams, wrestlers who are 4-5 years olds, won several blue ribbons. BRWC members are as follows, full results not known: Rownin Streeter, Kai Fusco, Kenny Allen, Hawkin Skinner, Jace Solomon, Hank Leuty, Lila Stockdale, Kendrick Runyan and Sebastian Sanchez. 

Results from Buzzsaw Wrestling Tourney in Coeur d’Alene for BFWC members: Carson Schnittlinger, second; Adam Runyan, second; Lane Swift, third; Brantly Stockdale, third; Emmett Solomon, third; Hayden Swift, second; Corbin Swift, fourth; Damen Therrien, third; Samuel Roeser, fourth; Colt Barras, first; Austin Goodnight, first; Evelynn Solomon, fourth; Eva-Pauline Sanchez, third; Terry Bradley, second; Rachel Roeser, first; Gabriella Nage, first; Emily Hart, second; Finn Hinrichs, third; Levi Roeser, first; Oliver Sanchez, second; Myles Dinning, second; Hendrick Hawks, second; Dexter Hinrichs, first; Levi Philips, first; and Levi Barnes, third.

Pre-bantams, 4-5 years old,  earned blue ribbons, BRWC members are as follows, full results not known: Waylon Johnson, Titan Richards, Rownin Streeter, Kai Fusco, Ian Heigel, Kenny Allen, Hawkin Skinner, Jace Solomon, Hank Leuty, Lila Stockdale, Megual Lopez jr, Naomi Roeser, Kendrick Runyan and Sebastian Sanchez. 

Recent Headlines