Thursday, April 18, 2024

Grace Bible Church’s 28th Annual Awana Grand Prix

| March 28, 2024 1:00 AM

Huge grins and friendly competition were the order of the day when Grace Bible Church and Springs of Living Water Free Methodist Awana clubbers took time out from reciting Bible verses, playing fast-action games, and participating in Bible lessons to race hand-crafted pinewood creations at the 28th annual Awana Grand Prix on March 23.

Design trophy winners in the Cubbies Division (3-5-year-old): first, Daphne Edwards; second, Olivia Dahlberg; and third, Isaac Wold.

Speed trophy winners in the Cubbies Division: first, William Fields; second, Daphne Edwards; and third, Sabrina Jefferson.

Design trophy winners in the Sparks Division (kindergarten to second grade): first, Hans Wold; second, Piper Kizanis; and third, Mariah Plant.

Speed trophy winners in the Sparks Division: first, Lucille Fields; second, Ember Nadeau; and third, Hans Wold.

Design trophy winners in the Truth and Training Division (third through sixth grade): first, Rio Nadeau; second, James Wold; and third, Wyatt Frederico.

Speed trophy winners in T&T Division: first, James Wold; second, Charles Wold; and third, Wyatt Frederico.

 Design trophy winners in open class are: first, Charis Frederico; second, Trinity Newman; and third, Miriam Frederico.

Speed open class winners are: first, Michael Wold; second; Charis Frederico; and third Miriam Frederico.

Participation ribbons were given to: Bethel and Boaz Callender, Abram Frederico, Finley Kizanis, Brian, Caleb, Elijah, and Sarah Plant, Weston Teele, and Lukas, Leona and Solly Wermelinger.

The organizers would like to give special thanks to race official Glenn Plant of Springs of Living Water Awana; track official Matteo Frederico; scorekeeper Miriam Frederico; and videographerJoann Velasco of GBC Awana.

Thanks also were given to design judges Ruth Allinger, Joann Velasco, Jerry Noel, and Bob Saboe; and to the line judges Andrew, Jessica and Ruth Allinger, Bob Saboe, Jerry Noel, and Charis Frederico.

Event officials also gave special thank to Kyle Hurd (with Matteo Frederico), Eric Kelly and Tom Cheney from Scouts Troop 114b for bringing and setting up the Rich Carlson Memorial Track the Awana clubs have raced on for the past 28 years.

Grace Bible Church Awana (ages third through sixth grade) meets Wednesdays through mid--May from 4:30-6 p.m. For more information, call or text Diane Zwinger at 208-255-8547.

Springs of Living Water Free Methodist Awana (age 3 years old through middle school) meets Wednesdays from 5:30-7 p.m. Contact SLWFM Awana director Alan Hinson at 208-597-0504 for more information.

    Sparks winners- L to R- Hans Wold 1st place Design, 3rd place Speed; Piper Kizanis 2nd place Design; Lucille Fields 1st place Speed; Ember Nadeau 2nd place Speed and Mariah Plant 3rd place Design.

    T&T winners-L-R- Rio Nadeau 1st place Design; James Wold 2nd place Design, 1st place Speed; Charles Wold 2nd place Speed; Wyatt Frederico 3rd place Design and Speed.